Press Center

Dream Teachers Event Celebrates Educators

Aug 22, 2017

Community Coffee has supported education for decades and has proudly sponsored the Louisiana Dream Teachers gala since it began. The gala event celebrates our educators who are going above and beyond to ensure our children have great opportunities for the future.

At the event, Dream Teachers,the Louisiana Department of Education, and the Louisiana Association of Principals announced the 2017 Louisiana Principal of the Year, 2017 Louisiana Teacher of the Year, H. Norman Saurage III Service Award recipient, Two Milken Educator Awards, TAP Founder Award winning school, and the elementary, middle, and high school Teachers and Principals of the Year.

This year’s winners include Kimberly Eckert, an English teacher who has also served as a special education inclusion teacher, a reading interventionist, a speech teacher, a mentor teacher, a master teacher, and an instructional coach. She was named the 2018 State Teacher of the Year, and Thomas Byler was named the 2018 State Principal of the Year. During his 26-year career Byler has maintained control over an A-rated school while increasing its performance score significantly.

Named in honor of our third generation owner, the H. Norman Saurage III Service Award recognizes an outstanding teacher who in addition to serving in the classroom, has also served the community. John Wondergem from Madisonville Junior was this year’s recipient. He will be spotlighted on Community Coffee’s social media sites this Fall. This is the second year we have been able to award an additional teacher for his or her efforts in the community. Congratulations to all our educators for their efforts to support future coffee drinkers.

News Archives